Uncategorized

Say Why To Drugs 

Today is time for another podcast review! I am so into podcasts now, I was listening to another just moments ago. 

The one I want to discuss today is part of Scroobius Pip’s Distraction Pieces Network, and is hosted by Doctor Suzi GagePodcast image. Green background with Suzi Gage on front. Text reads

Say Why To Drugs is not a pro drugs podcast, and it is not an anti drugs podcast. It is done from a neutral point of view, looking at the facts behind each drug. 

Every week, Suzi and Scroobius Pip discuss a different drug, past one’s include; alcohol, cocaine, heroin and caffeine. They look at why the drug is seen as enticing, what it does, the affects, how people may take it, long term and short term effects.

Doctor Suzi Gage is a Drugs & mental health researcher at MRC IEU Bristol Uni, so she certainly knows her stuff. Each week she does a bit more research, but her main interest is how drugs affect mental health. 

The pair try not to give too much personal opinion each week, but on occasion they find it difficult not to. They also talk about how some drugs may interact with others, which I find super interesting. 

In the most recent episode, they covered Poppers. This drug is a short term high, lasting from a few seconds to a few minutes, and is used in a recreational setting. It can be used to help also to relax muscles for sex, which is how I first heard of it in the Queer community. However, I found it interesting to learn that Poppers can affect elections, meaning, if you are planning to top someone, it may not be ideal. It also interacts with alcohol in the same way, so it is really worth baring in mind. 

I like this podcast because it doesn’t just tell you drugs are good or bad. It is impartial. It uses knowledge to allow people to make informed decisions about what they may plan to do. 

The way it is presented is easy to access, the way they structure it makes perfect sense and very rarely do they loop back on themselves. 

I am really looking forward to the next series in the new year, and intrigued to see what drugs they cover this time. 

Overall I give this podcast a 5 star rating. It keeps me entertained, and the episodes really aren’t too long so it is perfect for short bus rides! 

5 black stars
Another easy rating.

Go and check out Say Why To Drugs on acast, and let me know what you think. As I said, the podcasts are quite short, so it shouldn’t take you long to catch up. Plus you can listen to them out of order with little concern. 

If you enjoyed my review, let me know! Leave me a comment below or contact me on social media. I always reply to comments and I love getting them! 

What are your thoughts?