Work

What I’ve Learnt From Care Work

I have done a number of jobs through the years, despite having only worked for the past 7 years, and only the past 4 on the books. I have been a social media manager, a youth worker, I’ve worked in retail, I’ve sold books as well as clothes, and I’ve done a lot of care work. I’ve learnt lots of skills from each, but in this post I’m going to talk about the most recent, the care work. 

Image of man with nurses uniform on, with hook with fluids on. Text reads

Working with people who have lived a lot longer than me is really rewarding and super interesting. I have heard a lot about the war, the difference in the way of life, and just how much has changed in the last 40-60 years. 

Not only have I learnt that, but I’ve also learnt a lot about boundaries. I have learnt a lot about privacy, reasonable risks and various conditions that people can get. 

It is only through working in the care sector that I realised there was more than one type of dementia. The amount of stuff I have learnt is unbelievable. 

I have also learnt a lot about myself. I have learnt that I am best suited to a role which gives other people support, something I’d suspected for a while but had confirmed. I discovered that I am good with people. However I also had it confirmed that I am a perfectionist (which often leads to me being quite slow sadly). Finally I have also learnt a hard lesson, how to deal with death. Sadly it is a large part of the job, I have written about it before, but it doesn’t make it any easier each time it happens. 

It has also given me things to think about, such as my time management which currently sucks. I am now working hard on actually getting stuff done and managing my time a lot better. I have work to do and I am trying to get through it.

Due to my surgery I have had a few weeks off work, so when I return it may be a little odd, especially the early mornings, hopefully though I will fall back into the swing of things quickly and get back to my old routines. Saying that though… A lot can change in a few weeks! 

I hope you have enjoyed today’s post, and if there is anything here you’ve found interesting, or that you’d like to ask a question about, leave me a comment or message me through social media. I will always respond as I love getting messages from you! 

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Learnt From Care Work”

  1. Its always for me to hear about people being a perfectionist in care. As a trainer within care but worked hands on for over 20 years I have seen lots of people rushing as they think they have to. Thank you for sharing. Going to check out some of your other blogs. Care is my passion it always has been and I hope I can continue to do my best.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

