LGBT, Transition

Comprehending Femininity

Most people have elements of femininity in themselves, irrespective of gender. The thing that makes people different is how they chose to embrace this. For me, it took a long time to accept my femininity and how it impacts my life, today I want to talk about how I view my own feminine side. 

Blurred image of trees, the sea and the sky. Text reads

When I first explored the idea of gender, I determined that I wasn’t binary. I worked out that male wasn’t my identity. Thing was, nobody got it. Because nobody got it, I felt like perhaps I had to go the whole hog. It didn’t really change a lot of what I was feeling, just that I felt pressure to use male pronouns and call myself a man.

The one thing that has never changed is my feeling towards surgery and hormones, medical transition has always been something I’ve known I needed. I was not happy being read as female, and I was not happy with my chest. However, it does not make me male, no more than it makes me female. 

When I came to the realisation that I was not making it up and I could be non-binary, it all made sense. I came out and expressed myself more than before. I am now happier to be me, I will wear makeup when I fancy it, I will have my nails done, hell I am wearing fake eyelashes for the Navigate launch next Saturday! 

I found that, when I embraced my femininity, I found myself happier and more like me. I didn’t shun ‘girly’ things I had previously while identifying as male, instead I took it on board. I decided I could still enjoy make-up every now and then, I could enjoy the colour pink, clothes no longer had a certain gender assigned to them – it’s not my fault the best Harry Potter shirts are in the ‘womens’ section of Primark! 

Obviously you don’t have to be non-binary to like feminine and masculine things, my gender does not define what I enjoy, simply realising my identity unlocked these things to me once more. At the end of the day, all non-binary people are different. I am not trying to pigeon hole all NB persons. 

How about you? What are your thoughts on femininity? Or masculinity? Let me know as always in the comments, or contact me through here, or on social media.

See you all tomorrow! 

What are your thoughts?

