Family, Friends, LGBT, Relationships, Ten Things of Thankful, Transition, Volunteering, Work

Ten Things of Thankful: Thinking Positive

I haven’t done a Ten Things of Thankful post in a while, my mind has been all over the place and I haven’t really been in a good mood to do this sort of thing. I took a mini hiatus from blogging for a while, it was a little impromptu, but needed. I am going to try and blog as much as I can but I don’t want to get another burnout.

Today I am going to talk about the things that have made me thankful in the past few weeks, they may have been dark but in the words of Jo Rowling/Albus Dumbledore, “Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.”

image


I was and still am, like many others, deeply affected mentally by the result of the EU referendum, and we still don’t know exactly what it will mean for our futures. What I will say I am thankful for is the ability to vote. My vote may not have been on the ‘winning’ side, however my voice was still there. I am thankful to have that ability that many other’s were not blessed with.

Staying on the topic of the government, I may not agree with the current party in power, I may worry for my future, but one thing I am thankful for is that in theory we are living in a democracy and not a dictatorship. We have the power to re-elect government, this is a massive thing to be thankful for. We may still not have the power to get the same person as everyone else each time, which means that not everyone you want to be in power will get in power, but by democracy, the person(s) that the most people want get voted in (as a general rule). This is something fantastic to be thankful for.

I am very lucky to have supportive people all around me. This is true at home, at work, and in every other element of my life. I am a very lucky person. I am so thankful for my close friends, people who love me, my family, everyone is so special to me and I am thankful for you all.

In particular I would like to say thank you for Tyler, Stace and Gemma. All three of these people have stayed beside me and I may not have known them all for as long as each other, and they may not all know each other, but they all know me really well and have been there for me when I have needed it and helped me loads.

I am also thankful for my mum and my brother. We may not all see eye to eye on everything, but both of these people have been there for me. We may have different political views, but they are people I can still talk to and not fall out with (for long!) My mum and brother have stood by me for years, and have supported me since I was born.

I am thankful for my job, I had a few issues earlier in the month but they have been sorted and in June I have done so many extra hours it will really help me with my money next month when I go away.

Finally, the tenth thing I am thankful for is my transition. In this time I am uncertain how the future will be for me, but right now the last thing I am thankful for is being able to transition to become my true self.

image

What are you thankful for today? Why don’t you join the Ten Things of Thankful link up and let us know? Or if you would rather just let me know, leave me a comment down below! If you would like to talk about anything I’ve blogged about, recently or otherwise, send me a message or leave me a comment with contact details and I will get back to you.

See you all soon!

4 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful: Thinking Positive”

  1. The ability to communicate civilly with others who do not share your viewpoint is so needed in the world today. How nice that you have that with your family!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like a great list of thankfuls to me! I have a neighbor in his 70’s who is just coming out as female since his wife passed away last spring. I know that family and offspring have been a challenge for her to deal with.

    I’ve probably completely mangled the her and he’s in this comment, I still make those errors in speech as well – but eventually I’ll get it straight.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

