Family, Friends, LGBT, Relationships, Ten Things of Thankful

Ten Things of Thankful: Time Off Work

Today is a glorious day. I have a day off work and the only thing I need to do is pop to the shop to get Tyler an energy drink. It is wondrous and not something I get chance to do often! I didn’t even get out of bed until gone midday, and I have no regrets. In light of such a good day, here is my Ten Things of Thankful.

image

Tyler is home! While he’s sitting beside me now being irritating, and he just chucked half eaten pizza at me, I am pleased to have him home all the same. I did miss him while he was gone and it is nice to be able to stay warm at night with his natural body heat.

A&E were pretty good yesterday. Tyler was back less than 24 hours and we had to rush off to A&E, he couldn’t breathe properly and his throat felt like it was closing. Thankfully, it wasn’t anything too drastic and they reckoned it was a viral infection, at first it was the worry of an allergic reaction. They treated him quickly, and we were out of there within 3 hours. There were a few issues with misgendering and invasive questioning, but other than that they were great and I am thankful to have the NHS on hand for events like this.

Charlie, one of our close friends, did an amazing job these past few months organising some training for FTM Brighton and people from other groups in facilitation. It was a great day, even though we only made it to the second half, and I think everyone gained something great from it.

Time off work, I knew this would be in my TtoT this week, as I’ve got a bit of time off to chill at home. I went in on Friday for a meeting, but I haven’t got to wear my uniform for 11 days! I am off now until next Tuesday and I am really appreciating it! It is nice to be away from the workplace, as much as I love my job.

Creased Cards. They are a fantastic small card shop in Brighton that Tyler has a lifetime voucher for and their cards are great. I got Tyler’s birthday cards from there and they’re so lovely in the shop!

Animal conservation sites. I have been to a few places where they rescue animals recently, such as Drucillas and Port Lympe, and today Tyler and I watched some episodes of Monkey World, where they rescue Chimpanzees. Places like that do such good work, I am so thankful to have them exist.

The Non-Binary Group! I have met so many wonderful people through it, and now we are so close to setting up the sessions outside of the current format and I am confident the people who wish to be on the committee will be fantastic at the job. Especially since a lot of them who are interested have now undertaken training, something a lot of committees struggle to get people to go to, it really proves these people are keen and I am so thankful.

Homos, Heteros and a Whole Lot More. I love helping run this page, and, while we have the usual trolls you find everywhere, it is a great place to be and it is also great for sharing these blog posts! I have learnt a lot running the page, including about how to run successful pages, so I thank P0J0 for giving Tyler and I the chance to work with him on it!

Finally, I am so thankful to you, for reading my blog. My views have been fantastic recently, and I hope that trend continues past April, I have a lot of ideas on blog posts to make, and I think I am slowly narrowing down what I am posting about to have a core focus on gender and mental health. Thank you to everyone who reads my blog, even if it is just the once, I hope I can help you learn something, or make you smile, and hopefully you enjoy your time here.

image

What are you thankful for? Let me know in the comments, or join the link up here. I look forward to seeing you again tomorrow for the next post in the A-Z Challenge, O for Out.

25 thoughts on “Ten Things of Thankful: Time Off Work”

                    1. Matlock (Derby), been at a TransBareAll retreat since Friday. It was great and so accessible but I’m definitely on a comedown from it now! Music and a fidget toy I made while there are keeping me present atm

                      Like

                    2. Good! It sounds like you’ve been having a lot of time to yourself doing self-discovery type things lately, and taking great satisfaction in it. I’m pleased for you. Long may it continue. 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. We have a Save The Chimps rescue facility where I live! It’s not open to the public, for good reason, but I like knowing it’s there. My husband even worked there for awhile before I met him! Glad things are going well for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

