F is for Feminism

CN: Sexism, TERF’s, mention of rape

Feminism. Why is that such a dirty word? Feminism, feminism, feminism. It isn’t like Bloody Mary, if you say it three times it is still just the same, a damn good thing! Feminism affects everyone in society, not just women, and those who fight against it fight against even themselves. The whole point of the movement is equality, equality for pay, equality for attitudes, less sexism in the world in general. Despite what Men’s Rights Activists (MRA’s) may say, Feminism does not hurt men. If anything it helps them.

Today I want to talk about why I am a Feminist, what that means for me as a non-binary, masculine presenting person, and why you should be one too. I am also going to touch on TERF’s which I spoke about in another post a while ago.

image


I used to hate the word feminist, when I came out and I heard all about TERF’s (Trans Exclusionary Radical Feminists) I thought hell no. I didn’t want any part of a movement that excluded me. I came across lots of ‘bad’ feminists, those who believed women were women and men were men. They called trans men trans women and visa versa, and said we were all mentally ill, and nobody should indulge in our fantasies. I saw feminists who claimed all Penis in Vagina sex was rape, simply because women are indoctrinated to like it by society and shouldn’t, therefore even if it is consensual, it is rape. It was downright awful. I hid away from it, I called myself someone fighting for equality, but not a feminist.

It took a while, but I soon realised that the feminists I was afraid of, weren’t the right kind of feminist. I took a good look at the actual feminist movement, I saw women fighting for rights, fighting for laws that actually impacted people of all (or no) gender. While my place in feminism is not the top (as someone who doesn’t identify as female, I take a back seat), I can still hold a valuable place. I pass as male 99% of the time in public, this grants me immediate privilege over others, something I am not proud of, but something I have none the less. It is my job to use that privilege to educate others about what feminism really is, and get them to listen to the women fighting.

I do not identify as male however, and feminism definitely is there to help me too. Feminism works to fight for those who are non-binary as well as female and male people of the world. Unlike what TERF’s say, feminists have an interest in fighting for total equality, and they do this by fighting multiple causes at once.

Myself, I identify as a feminist because I know there are still causes to be fought. I don’t even have to leave my front door to see the issues. Every day online there is another argument about what is and isn’t okay. Every day I see people slated for what they do or want, or how they act or present. Women are still fighting an uphill battle with wages and fairness in the workplace around the world, they are still getting catcalled in the street, men are told they are ‘sissy’s’ for wearing something stereotypically ‘fem’, sexism attacks our very livelihood, and it is something that should be stomped out.

I will definitely be doing another post on this after this month, as I have barely touched on what I want and need to, so I hope you will keep an eye out for it. Follow my blog to see more of my A-Z Challenge posts and keep up to date about what my life is doing. I hope to see you here again soon, let me know in the comments what you thought, what are your views on feminism?

4 comments

  1. I never really felt comfortable calling myself a feminist until I discovered intersectional feminism, which seems to be very inclusive of trans and non-binary people. I’m very fortunate to live so near to the University of Southampton, which has a fantastic Feminist Society that is both intersectional (i.e. works in conjunction with aspects of people’s identities that aren’t gender-based such as race and disability) and open to non-students.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I identify as a feminist, but I have to work hard every semester to explain to my students why it isn’t a “dirty word.” I have to prepare myself for all the usual arguments: “Why is not just called humanist?” “But what about the BAD feminists?” “But do we really still need feminism?” etc. It is a pain, but a work important to do none the less 😀
    Great post!

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    The Multicolored Diary
    MopDog

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

