Mental Health, Word of the Week

Word of the Week: Rest

This week has been a lot calmer than previous ones which has been nice indeed and entirely needed! I have also come down with something not so nice too so rest is something I need at the moment.

image

I think resting is really important, both mentally and physically. Right now I have just woken up and am sitting in bed, covered by the duvet, knowing I actually have nothing to do today but blog and plan my NaNoWriMo stuff (it starts next week, eek!).

It is a lovely feeling and mentally is really helping to calm me down. With my new meds I have noticed that I’ve been a bit quicker to snap at the moment so stress has been affecting me hard. Yesterday I got ridiculously stressed simply because I didn’t know if I was going out after a meeting or going home. I ended up going back in a weird mood and having to play my music up at full volume in my ears on the bus just to have something to block out my thoughts. I then got in and played on the Widow Maker (Xbox 360) and it really helped.

Physically resting is just fantastic too. I have a cold at the moment and I am needing to banish it because of work. I don’t obviously want to pass it on to my clients and I don’t want to be in a position where I am unable to go to work either. Having this weekend off hopefully means I can get rid of the nastiness and feel a bit better ready for my full day of work on Monday. As I write this my throat is still pretty sore and my nose is a little blocked but other than that it isn’t too bad so far (touch wood). We will see how it progresses though.

So how about you? What’s your word of the week? Let me know in the comments or go and join the link up! I look forward to reading them!

The Reading Residence
1 thought on “Word of the Week: Rest”

  1. I think you’re so right, and I’m very aware that I have no ‘rest’ time built in anywhere for me for the foreseeable future. I need it, we all need it, so somehow I need to make some time. Glad you’re getting to recharge when you need it. Thanks for sharing with #WotW

    Like

What are your thoughts?

