Blog Series, Guest Post, Musical Monday

Musical Monday: Musical Memories (Part Two)

On the last installment of Musical Monday’s I wrote about links I had to certain songs. At the end of the post, I mentioned that I was looking for other people’s stories. I was grateful for the replies I received, from all kinds of different people around the world. I find it so interesting to hear from different perspectives and I hope you, as my readers, feel the same.

image

Minus the Bear – Pachuca Sunrise

Emily said that this was the song she had her first kiss to.
“Whenever I hear this song, even five years later, memories come flooding back. From the glow of the computer screen to the smell of his skin. Depending on what I’m going through this song can make me feel sad or happy. The love of my life gave me my first kiss while this song was playing in the background.”

Brantley Gilbert – You Don’t Know Her Like I Do

Another from Emily!

“My best friend told me he was dedicating this song to me when it first came. I have never loved anyone more than him in my life. He is an incredible person and has done so much for me. Whenever I hear this song it reminds me how grateful I am for him and how much I love him.”

System of a Down Top 30 The Greatest Hits

Devun said they couldn’t name a particular song. So I have included a compilation video.

“I haven’t listened to system of a down in 3 years but I still remember every song note by note and how to play them on every instrument because I listened to them a lot in a very important part of my life.”

Kendrick Lamar – Money Trees ft. Jay Rock

Jake said that this one came to mind straight away.

“I went to my first live show at Leeds Festival on August 28th. First act I saw was Kendrick Lamar, and this is what he came out to. Gave me goosebumps for daaays.”

Twenty Øne Piløts (songs linked are Car Radio and Migrane)

Devon didn’t have a particular song either, but shared a story about his links with music. 

“There’s the crippling depression after MCR broke up and I didn’t have faith in music anymore as a means of helping myself. That was fixed when I discovered Twenty Øne Piløts and looked deeper into them. Kinda significant, except the first part happened in my mid-emo phase and the depression wasn’t really depression so much as sulking until a couple years after.”

Get Back to Hogwarts – A Very Potter Musical

One person said a song I can definitely relate to!

“Really dorky but get back to hogwarts from avpm always makes me smile and think of singing it with friends.”

Iris – Goo Goo Dolls

This song reminds one of my friends of her brother.

“For me it’s the song he always played it when one of us was feeling sad and he used to always sing soo bad off key :p”

I’m in the Mood for Dancing – The Nolan’s

Daisy and Tyler had a joint one. In Tyler’s words “have you ever been drunk with your best friend?” I think that about sums it up! Tyler even requested it in a bar for Daisy!

I Can See Clearly Now – Jimmy Cliff

Daisy listed I Can See Clearly Now as one of her musical memories and this was her reason.
“It was after a good 3 days on it, a mix of pills and meow [drugs], with my head phones in at about 6-30 am walking to the station and that song was playing and I just was walking with my head held high feeling like a million bucks with the biggest grin on my face that last until I got home!

It was one of my happiest moments ever and it has always been my happy song since I was a kid.”

Marvin Gaye – Let’s Get it On

Another from Daisy! Love it!
“I was in my room with brownie and that song came on and in perfect time I slowly closed the lap top and raised my eyebrow (the look) and it was beautiful we was laughing for hours.”
Tyler also had a memory for this one, he said this was his song with one of his best friends Ish, she sings it to him all of the time.

Taylor Swift cover of Vance Joy’s Riptide

Gemma’s girlfriend sings this one to her all the time and this version came on when they were in a coffee shop in London, she remembers it because of that.

And finally…

Pitbull- Timber ft. Ke$ha

Tyler and I both were going through Nip/Tuck the TV show when this song was everywhere. We changed the lyrics. “S**ts going down, I’m yelling Kimberrr…” And now whenever we hear the song it is heard like that. Or whenever stuff goes down we sing it!

Thank you to everyone who took part, I think it is really interesting to see different songs and the way they stick with us. If you have any more to add, stick them in the comments and let me know!

What are your thoughts?

