Mental Health, Volunteering, Work

Word of the Week – Help (02/10/2015)

It didn’t take me long to think of the word for this week, and it was slightly spurred on by Tyler’s blog post the week before last, and a conversation I have had with a few of my clients this past week.

image

There has been a lot of stuff being thrown around in the trans community recently about different people and it has been hurtful and even damaging to some. When I first looked at it, I was outraged by the outright lies being spread, the malicious words cut deep and there was no need for them. But then I saw Tyler’s post and we had a small chat. We don’t need to get angry with the person spreading stuff, we can just realise that, clearly, they need help right now. The person saying things is clearly not well at the moment and I hope they are able to get help for it. I am not being patronising, I am just realising what is happening. I know this person probably won’t listen to me about it but I hope someone else will speak to and help them. The past week they seem to have been less hurtful and it has meant progress.

In another way, I know that I need help. It has taken me time to realise it, but getting help isn’t a bad thing. It doesn’t make you weak, it helps you to be stronger than you already are. Seeking, or even admitting you need, help is really hard and I hope those who need it feel able to reach out, if not to someone professional, even to someone who can advocate or help you to get help.

Help also comes in the form of my work. I am a carer and that means I help lots of people on a daily basis. This can be from something simple like popping a meal in the microwave and heating it up, to aiding them to get dressed and take them out. It can be literally anything. I even have a call whereby I clean their whole house. It really varies. I have always loved to help people and this work just gives me chance to do so and get paid for it!

I have spoken to a few of my regulars this week about something I wrote in my Ten Things of Thankful blog post;

If I can only help one person in my whole lifetime that is okay for me. Though I’d rather at least one a week, or at least a month!

I was chatting to these three in particular and when I have said that my main aim is that, all three have commented on how I have already helped them loads and how grateful they are. I am so grateful for such amazing clients, they all have such different needs and attitudes, and I feel privileged to be able to help them.

Volunteering is another form of helping. It is giving your time away for free which can be really helpful for places that can’t afford to pay someone but need the help. I have done a lot of volunteering in the past as I am sure anyone who has read my blog will know. It isn’t all about getting money, I feel privileged to be able to have given my time away for free. Honestly I don’t regret any of my time volunteering, I wouldn’t be in the position I am today if I didn’t do it!

The Reading Residence

So tell me, what does the word help mean to you? Leave a comment and let me know! Or if you like, join the WoTW link up! I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

2 thoughts on “Word of the Week – Help (02/10/2015)”

  1. Realising that you need help and reaching out is the first of a big, positive step forward. Asking for help is also one of the strongest and bravest things you can do. Well done for taking that first step & I hope all the love and help you’ve given out in the past is returned to you in some form – I’m sure it will be, I’m a great believer in Karma
    xx
    #WoTW

    PS: I’ve just read your Trans Tuesday post. Very emotive
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there’s a lot of strength in recognising the need for and asking for help. It’s wonderful that you make such a difference all the time, helping daily. There can be few things more satisfying that being kind and helpful. Thanks for sharing again with #WotW

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

