Ten Things of Thankful: Avenue Q Edition!

If you hadn’t guessed by the title, this weeks TToT is actually themed! I went to see the fantastic Avenue Q last night and it was so amazing. I have heard the soundtrack over and over andI knew all of the words already but I had never seen an actual production of it. I didn’t think I would be able to go whenI first saw the adverts but circumstances actually allowed me go to the final showing and I was not disappointed.

As a result I have decided to write my TToT around the lyrics!

image

Welcome to Avenue Q!
My first one is pretty easy to work out, I am thankful for being ableto go last night. I love the theatre, most of all musicals, and they really give me a chance to escape from reality and feel (generally) good.

The sun is shining it’s a lovely day…
It is September, yet we have actually had largely okay weather this month! Today I had a few calls for work (nobody else could cover them) and I was lovely and toasty standing waiting for the bus!

For now we’re healthy. For now we’re employed. Except for death and paying taxes, everything is only for now…
For now. I love those words, it’s like those are the words of the week, I just can’t shake them. I did a training course Wednesday and Thursday on Suicide First Aid (the post is coming, I am just waiting for a few pictures) and the key thing was about keeping people safe from suicide ‘for now’.

The lyrics to the song say a lot though, everything is just for now, and that is a good thing. I am thankful that right now I am fairly healthy, I have a job, a roof over my head, I have a partner, etc. I am lucky and I am thankful for that.

image
A post work selfie today!

If you were Queer, I’d still be here, year after year, because you are dear to me!
This song amuses me no end, and it got the audience laughing non stop too last night. It reminds me how lucky I am for my friends and family. I came out not just as gay or anything like that, I came out as bisexual and trans. Those aren’t easy things for everyone to wrap their heads around. But I weeded out the bad eggs, I now have a really supportive network and I am really thankful for that.

The more you ruv someone…
Naturally Tyler features again in this, and while I don’t want to kill them as the song suggests (right now anyway), I love them so much. Tyler has stood by me through some really difficult times and I couldn’t ask for someone more wonderful.

Right now you are down and out and feeling pretty crappy//For now we’re happy, if not overjoyed…
My mental health has been up and down and these lines show how much it can vary. It is something that I am really thankful for, mental health fluctues. While you might feel awful right now, next week you might feel fantastic. It is vital to remember.

Watching a frat boy realise just what he put his d**k in…//David Cameron is only for now…
Okay I had to include this considering everything on the news lately. It has amused me so much and put a smile on my face seeing the memes that have been created as a result of Cameron’s ‘incident’. I am thankful for people’s creativity! (Though I will make it clear I do not agree with him having done the activity to begin swith).

image
Found on the Daily Mail website.
image
Found on the Daily Mail website.
image
Found on the Daily Mail website.

When you help others you cant help helping yourself…
I am thankful for all of the voluntary work I have done in the past. I love to help people because I hate seeing people suffering – in all contexts – but as the song says, it does help me too. My voluntary work has helped me get the majority of my jobs to date and helped me meet loads of my current friends.

If you haven’t helped others before, go and do it! You will be surprised how much it helps all parties.

The internet is really really great…
No I am not going to discuss the rest of the song, I am instead going to say how thankful I am forthe internet. It is wonderful! I was at my client’s home today and even there I used Google to find something out about the moon (she wanted to know about the total eclipse tonight). It is amazing and I don’t think we give enough props to Alan Turing. They did good!

Somehow I can’t shake, the feeling I might make, a difference to the human race…
This one is really that I am thankful that I am in a position to help people. Sure it may not be the whole human race but even if I can only help one person in my whole lifetime that is okay for me. Though I’d rather at least one a week, or at least a month!

image

So that’s my TToT this week, how about you? What are you thankful for this week? Go and join the link up here and let me see!

15 comments

  1. Your mention of suicide prevention training reminded me of these words by Jeffrey R. Holland: ” Whatever your struggle, my brothers and sisters—mental or emotional or physical or otherwise—do not vote against the preciousness of life by ending it! Trust in God. Hold on in His love. Know that one day the dawn will break brightly and all shadows of mortality will flee. Though we may feel we are “like a broken vessel,” as the Psalmist says, we must remember, that vessel is in the hands of the divine potter. Broken minds can be healed just the way broken bones and broken hearts are healed. While God is at work making those repairs, the rest of us can help by being merciful, nonjudgmental, and kind.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like the last line – if we can make a difference to the human race, even if it’s only one person then that’s our reason to be here right? Because there has to be a reason we struggle through the hard days, and that is probably the best one to keep us going.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. so much of this is truth…. but the fluctuation thing about mood… total truth… its difficult to remember because depression lies to us so much but remembering that mood is a temporary state and dynamic is so hard when it feels like forever…

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

