Kai’s First Wednesday Hodgepodge

Hello readers! I decided the other day that I wanted to do more linkup posts, and a few days ago I found this one. The Wednesday Hodgepodge hosted by From This Side of The Pond. I hope you like it!
image

1. Last thing you did on the spur of the moment?
Go and visit Lush when Tyler and I were going to get food before an awards evening last night. No regrets though, I got to put some lush perfume on and see a demo of a new bath bomb, the Experimenter! I love Lush!

image
I know the first image is really pixelated but that is the before and the after! So amazing!

2. How well informed do you feel about the current Syrian refugee crisis?
I have been keeping up with it for a while now, but I feel like I know slightly more of late. I think this is a result of the sudden media coverage after the image of Aylan Kurdi’s body was projected across the front pages of national newspapers. Suddenly I feel like the world, or Europe at least, are now more aware and starting to do stuff. I think it is great, considering everything that is going on. But I also feel like I still don’t understand enough about the reasons for the fleeing. Maybe that is something I need to look into and educate myself on some more.

3. What have you changed your mind about?
Curry. I used to hate anything spicy at all and curry was my nemisis. Now, I have quite a liking for the two all you can eat Indian food places in Brighton and wish I could go there all of the time!

4. A medium sized non-poisonous snake found it’s way into the pool trap this weekend. If you’d been sitting poolside would you have fished it out? Gone running? Called for help? Pretended not to know? Continued swimming?
I’d probably have either fished it out or continued swimming. I love snakes now and hopefully Tyler and I are going to be getting one at some point in the near future as our friend’s Royal Python is a stud snake and will be breeding soon!

image
This is Rasputin, the Royal Python who is absolutely adorable and more like a puppy than a snake!

5. September 10th is National TV Dinner Day…what’s your idea of a great TV dinner? (Or at least a pretty good one!)
Hmm, well honestly at home we mostly eat watching TV anyway as we don’t have much space to do otherwise (one bed council flat). We actually don’t have a microwave, but I make a lot of so called ‘TV dinners’ at work for my clients and the ones I think look the best are the hotpot meals! I so want one of those. I did make up mac and cheese yesterday for someone too and that smelt amazing – and I’m not a mac and cheese fan!

My kind of TV dinner now is a takeaway pizza. Milanos being one of the best!

6. Samuel Johnson is quoted as saying, “Courage is reckoned the greatest of all virtues; because, unless a man has that virtue, he has no security for preserving any other.” Would you agree? Where have you seen that played out recently? What’s the second greatest virtue?
I think I do agree with that. It took me a few reads to understand what was meant but having understood it, yeah. I think if you don’t have courage, you won’t believe you can do anything else.

I see this every day with my clients. They have so much courage to have people they dont know come into their homes and care for them, doing things they otherwise would have done for themselves. To go on, regardless of the fact that they have lost their independance. It is amazing.

I’d say the second greatest is being humble, it’s one thing knowing you are able to do something, it’s another not to boast about it.

7. What are three words you have trouble remembering how to spell?
This will be interesting as I don’t have auto correct to spell them for me!

1) Definitely
2) Schedule
3) Embarrassment

As a heads up to people, while trying to work out how to spell these I actually found a page for commonly misspelt words and how to remember them here.

8. Insert your own random thought here.
Some people are so set in their ways, nothing seems to change them and I think that is really quite sad. It is good to admit you are wrong sometimes, some people could do with realising that.

image
Fuck excuses, learn to admit when you have fucked up.

6 comments

  1. Curry is a favorite of mine, but I’ve always loved it. I am also a fan of LUSH…it’s around the US now, but when we lived in the UK it wasn’t something they had here, so when I see the products I think of fun shopping trips to Covent Garden for goodies from their shop.

    I’m trying to catch up a bit on last week’s HP before next week rolls around!

    Like

  2. I used to hate curry too, but now it’s one of my favorite things. Brighton has a ton of great Indian places- the dosa at chili pickle is possibly one of the best things in the world (not curry I know but…), also I love Planet India (but I’m a veg, so…), also I pretty much never spell definitely or embarrassment right (I even had to use spell check just then!)

    Like

What are your thoughts?

