Activism and Quidditch

Sorry it has been a while since my last post, I have been bogged down with emotions and inabilities to communicate of late. This hasn’t been a fun time but hopefully I am on the later end of it, for now anyway.

Image of Banksy art with a man crouched down holding a sign saying
Image of Banksy art with a man crouched down holding a sign saying “Keep your coins I want change.”

I would like to address the topic of activism in this post. Now I have been an activist some way shape or form for a number of years now, starting with youth activism at around 15, around the start of the threat to youth services, I quickly became involved in local projects, I was a member of youth cabinet, youth parliament, forums, charities, you name it, I probably did something to do with it. I was also volunteering as a peer mentor at the time, online and off, having been trained by BeatBullying for their CyberMentors scheme as well as by my local youth centre. I loved it and was quickly drawn in.

Myself in the House of Commons debating equal marriage with the UK Youth Parliament in 2012.
Myself in the House of Commons debating equal marriage with the UK Youth Parliament in 2012.
From there I was thrown into more stuff, I became a mental health activist, an anti-bullying activist, I taught social media to parents and young people alike, I got involved in everything. When I came out I started to get more heavily involved in LGBT+/Queer work, which largely my focus centres on now, and at university I became interested in d/Deaf culture and the crossover it has with everything else!
Volunteering at the FTM Brighton Trans* Pride stall last summer.
Volunteering at the FTM Brighton Trans* Pride stall last summer.

Basically I got involved with everything that got thrown at me as an option and it is only lately I actually started to learn to say no.

Right now, I am involved in a number of groups in Brighton centering on Queer issues, such as Queer as in Fuck You, FTM Brighton, Trans Aligence, Brighton Bothways, Brighton Poly Group, Clare Project and probably a few others I have forgotten to mention! A lot of the focus tends to centre on inclusion, and by that strain, intersectionality. Recently, I attended the IDAHOBIT (International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia and Transphobia) debate which asked the key question, “Is LGBT enough?” There was a lot of debate and some interesting points brought up, such as, “Should the T be part of LGB? Or should we be separate?” There was a discussion on if we were to seperate, how would it affect the funding? Would we have more or less for trans* groups? How about public attitudes? A lot of the knowledge of Trans* people is brought about because of the wider community – no matter how problematic a lot of the views can be – the trans* community is a small one, breaking from it’s larger sexuality based community could cause issues with visibility.

My tweets from the Brighton and Hove IDAHOBIT Debate.
My tweets from the Brighton and Hove IDAHOBIT Debate.

It was such an interesting debate, and if you do want to see more, check out my twitter @MrKaiMoore and you can see where I live tweeted the whole event. I am very pleased I went along, and gained some important contacts such as someone from a local university who has done a lot of work on creating a document for gender neutral toilets, something I think all places around the country could benifit from. As someone’s mum said while on holiday, having discovered a GN toilet, “When you gotta go, you gotta go!” We even said at the event, why are GN toilets an issue in public? Everyone’s toilet at home is GN, what’s the big fuss when we go out?

Photo of a person staring at toilet doors with the caption "Get Yelled At" and "Get Beat Up".
Photo of a person staring at toilet doors with the caption “Get Yelled At” and “Get Beat Up”.

Another thing I wanted to mention was my new role within my quidditch team at university. Recently we had the AGM and I was voted on (uncontested) to be the new Social Secretary for the Reading Rocs. My key aim is to focus on bringing more female identified and non-male players into our team, something we really lack at the moment. Currently, at our most recent matches, we have had on average five members of our squad be non-male, and often even less. At one tournament there were three female players, one genderneutral and one transmasculine genderqueer person. This was NOT good enough. As  a sport, we thrive on the inclusivity, and while yes, it may simply be down to who is interested to play, clearly there is not enough promotion within the LGBT+ society and Feminist society in the university to actually get people involved. This is my task. I want to promote the sport to more people, to have something akin to other teams in the UK, where everyone get’s equal play time, not wearing out the non-male players because we have no other choice.

Photo of Reading Rocs and Leicester Thestrals at Whiteknights III. Photo credit to Luke Parker.
Photo of Reading Rocs and Leicester Thestrals at Whiteknights III. Photo credit to Luke Parker.

I know I can’t change the world on my own, nor do I dream to (though it would be pretty kick ass), but I want to make a difference of some sort. If I can inspire one person to do one more thing to help themselves or other people, that is a win for me; any more than that and I am ecstatic.

7 comments

  1. Forgive my ignorance, Mr Kai Moore – is Quidditch a kind of flagship sport as far as trans*ness is concerned? And gender-queer/genderneutral/the others you mentioned.

    I ask this because I’ve seen a bunch of people playing it in a local park and kind of dismissed them as uber-geeks, but I think I’d be less condescending if I knew that there was a higher purpose to it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • No problem! Indeed it is. It is the only sport that even in the governing body’s rule book is entirely gender inclusive (even for those who are genderless).

      Also on the uber geek front, actually you’ll find that there is only a small portion of sports persons who take part who actually enjoy the geeky side in Harry Potter! It is so different to the book version and a sport entirely in it’s own right, the only links are terminology and a few basic parts. Joanne Rowling may have invented the magical version but the muggle eqivilent is quite different!

      If I may suggest, next time you see the team playing locally, pop over and ask them about it. Chances are they will happily talk you through it and answer questions. Hell depending who you talk to, if you say you know one of the Reading players they may spare you the things I have already said haha.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Learning to say no is important. I also like the expression “No is a complete sentence”, meaning you don’t have to qualify it with any explanations. Good for you, and your blog looks fantastic, as does your Twitter. I’ll be having a proper read-through when I’ve got more time – probably later this evening.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

