Transition

One year, three months on testosterone

I can’t believe it has been that long already. Time has flown by so fast it seems like yesterday that I was skipping down Fulham Palace Road after being told I had the all clear. It seems like hours ago that I was on the phone to Charing Cross trying to speed up my letter coming through to the doctor and get the prescription to Boots in time to collect it before I let for Christmas and had to wait a whole month for it. It was great. One of the best moments of my life. My squeaky voice started to change into a manly thing that had people calling me sir, it was the best thing I had done without surgery.

Both kinds of testosterone I have been on. Testim gel 50mg one sachet a day (I was on this for nearly 10 months) and Nebido 1000mg which I am currently on.
Both kinds of testosterone I have been on. Testim gel 50mg one sachet a day (I was on this for nearly 10 months) and Nebido 1000mg which I am currently on.

Starting on T was so exciting. It brought with it the prospect of fat redistribution, a lower voice, hair, a body change, more hair, muscles, and even more hair! Plus so much more. It was the best day, starting that. I chose to begin my journey on medication on the 25th December 2013. Yes. I picked Christmas day. Because what better day to start than a memorable one? At least this way I wouldn’t forget my T anniversary! I remember waking up that morning, with the tube on the side next to my bed and grinning from ear to ear. It was time. It was Christmas day and it was time to start puberty!

I rushed to get showered and get all my things together. I was buzzing at the mere idea of it all. Tyler was in Scotland with his family and I was with mine, who at the time were still referring to me with my birth name. But I didn’t care about that. I was about to start something massive for me and it felt amazing.

The first thing I wanted to change was my voice. I hated it, it was the only thing that stopped me passing (I was lucky with a fairly masculine body, not so lucky with a feminine voice). It seemed like it took a while (in reality it started very soon) and I started to notice a change. I was lucky in that it was gradual – I know people who experienced their voice changing very quickly and hurt in the process – mine didn’t hurt, it was smooth except for the odd scratchy throat and soon it was dropping octaves. To hear a comparison between the first day and today, 1 year 3 months later, click the links below.

http://picosong.com/VPLU/ – One day

http://picosong.com/VP2e/ – One year 3 months

As you can tell, it has dropped a fair bit!

Another change that I saw was hair. Most people will say you will get hairier than you would expect. I, like a fool, didn’t believe them. But dear lord, it came out of nowhere I swear! I am so hairy now and it just gets more by the day. I know I have not reached my full hair potential and do expect to end up like a bear. I was fairly hairy pre-T, but now it is ridiculous. I mean,

My leg pre-t
My leg pre-t
My leg 1 year and 3 months on t
My leg 1 year and 3 months on t (excuse the rice and my foot)
My face pre-t
My face pre-t
Sideburns (right) 1 year and 3 months on t
Sideburns (right) 1 year and 3 months on t
My neck (alternate angle) 1 year 3 months on t
My neck (alternate angle) 1 year 3 months on t
Sideburns (left) 1 year and 3 months on t
Sideburns (left) 1 year and 3 months on t
My neck 1 year 3 months on t
My neck 1 year 3 months on t
Me, almost 4 months post-op and exactly 1 year 3 months on T
Me, almost 4 months post-op and exactly 1 year 3 months on T
My stomach from the front pre-t
My stomach from the front pre-t
My stomach from the top pre-t
My stomach from the top pre-t
My stomach 1 year and 3 months on t
My stomach 1 year and 3 months on t

It really is madness. I can’t believe how hairy I have got! The pictures really do speak for themselves.

With regards to things like muscle, it has grown, but I also haven’t stayed as healthy as I should have. This will be changing in the next few months so watch this space for the 2 year update at least and there should be changes there. I will be a hairy slim bear! However I am certainly stronger than I was and can lift a lot more (I am not sure exactly how much but in comparison to before it is better).

Growth, I have actually grown an inch or two. Which is odd, but I am now at around 5’10”, 5’11”. Before I was 5’8″/5’9″. I am certainly pleased with this and my foot size has gone up a little, from 9/10 to 10/11.

Growth elsewhere, it has definitely changed. I will not go any further on this blog as it is SFW, but it has grown.

All in all I am happy with my physical changes on T. Emotionally things have been difficult on and off. It has certainly affected my mood and the way I process things. I am a lot more abrupt with how I talk at times which I know isn’t always great so it is something I am working on. At the same time my communication ability has gone down and when my anxiety is worse I really struggle to talk now. I am also unable to cry as much as before, something I am honestly grateful for, as prior to T whenever I was slightly angry or upset I would cry and this was not good for the manly persona! When I first started I really struggled mentally, I found myself very insecure and not happy. But as it levelled out (the plus side of gel is that it levels a lot sooner), I have found myself able to cope better.

So that’s all I can think about right now. As I said above I am on Nebido 1000mg now, every 12 weeks at present, and it really is seeming to work well. I will keep this updated with anything else I think of over the next few weeks and if I remember I will make sure to do another update in a few months time!

7 thoughts on “One year, three months on testosterone”

What are your thoughts?

